Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

A Monochrome Day


Joggers

When out on a photo walk, the rate of travel is often much less than the other traffic along the pathways. After being passed by the pair of joggers above, I thought the addition of the human element was more interesting than the previously empty sidewalk.

Windmill Reflection

I find windmills of any form quite attractive and hate to miss an opportunity to photograph one. I lined up the reflection with the middle of the water but, there were a few distracting color elements in the image. A conversion to monochrome was in order to focus on the forms and shapes.

Both images were shot on my Nikon D300s with a Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8 (which was the only lens I took on the photowalk), and processed in Nikon Capture NX2 with Nik Color Efex providing the B&W conversion.

In the best light…

Leave a comment