Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Joe McNally, Morning Nov 14, 2010


Well I misplaced my Nikon P6000 when I arrived in the theatre in the morning, so I didn’t get any photos of the first model of the morning or any of Joe’s lighting setups. I went out to my vehicle at the break and brought in my D300s and a 70-200mm f/2.8. I was able to get some nice shots.

Joe Explains The Setup

Joe stands on pallets to gain some elevation because of Will’s height, and explains what he’s doing with the Deep Octa.

Will

Will directly lit with the Deep Octa.

Joe and David Create A Screen

Joe and David set a pallet on edge and tilted to create a screen to throw a pattern on the background when lit by another flash.

Will with Screen Background

The pallet pattern show nicely on the seamless.

Will and Seamless Background

Will patiently waits while Joe changes things and explains to  us what he’s doing.

 

Will and Gelled B/G

Adding a blue gel to the SB900 lighting the screen creates a different look and effect.

Voice Activated Lightstands

Drew and David act as Voice Activated Lightstands. Drew is holding the famous Sylinator; a Shur-Line Easy Reach Paint Pole w/a Kacey adaptor, SB900, and a softbox.

Will In Front Of Crowd

Later Joe added an additional light to the wood ceiling at the back of the room.

More to come…

Leave a comment