Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Best of a While Back


The best of the slides that I scanned last year.

Burmis Tree In Better Times

The Burmis Tree In Better Times from a Kodachrome slide taken in 1986 at Burmis, AB in the Crowsnest Pass.

Pre Dawn Light 2

 

Predawn Light 2 was taken on a Courtney Milne Workshop in June of 1986. Shot on Agfachrome slide film in Cypress Hills Interprovincial Park.

Alberta Skies

 

Alberta Skies was shot on Kodachrome 64 film somewhere outside of Calgary sometime in 1987, using a Tamron 17mm lens.

City Pacman

 

City Pac Man was shot from the parking lot of the Max Bell arena in 1985. I was on my way home from working in the camera department at Woodward’s. The night before, Sherri came to pick me up from work and told me how the sunset was great. Luckily I got off a little earlier the next night and the sunset was just as spectacular.

Olympic Flame And Moon

 

Olympic Flame and Moon is one of my personal favourites. Perhaps this has a lot to do with the memories of the night. I was working with Nikon for the 1988 Calgary Winter Olympics, and had checked out a 400mm f/2.8 lens for the evening. It’s a monster of a lens that is about 2 feet long with a front element that is 9 or 10 inches in diameter. I took the unit to the medals ceremony at Olympic Plaza and while waiting, I turned around and saw the flame and fingernail moon.

Next month marks the 5th Anniversary of this blog. I have been operating under the name The Stentorian Image for a few years now and have been posting on a regular Monday, Wednesday and Friday schedule for over 4 years. With some reluctance, I have to announce that the blog will be on a hiatus for the next two months. I will be travelling with limited internet access, and may occasionally post, but without a schedule. Please bear with me and I should be back on schedule in April. Thanks for all of your support.

In the best light…

 

3 responses

  1. Have a good trip and come back with great photographs.

    Like

    January 23, 2015 at 05:07

  2. Girl Gone Expat

    I too like the Olympic flame and moon:) Good travels!

    Like

    January 23, 2015 at 18:54

  3. Some serious beauties here, John. Thanks for posting. 🙂

    Like

    January 24, 2015 at 16:46

Leave a Reply

