Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Mona Lisa Smile


Meg

 

Clamshell lighting one of the most important things I learned at Dave Brosha’s Creative Bootcamp 2014 Calgary. I had seen Joe McNally demonstrating this technique at his Calgary workshop but it was the first time that I was able to practice using the method myself. Meg Christine Queen is a fabulous model and it was a pleasure to work with her. For me, the eyes and the mouth are the keys to portraiture. I had her face slightly away from me and then look back with her eyes. I told Meg that I needed a small smile. “You’ve got a secret” I said, “and you aren’t going to share it with me” and she came back with this great smile.

In the best light…

Leave a Reply

