Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Wild Alberta Skies


Wild Alberta Skies

Sometimes it’s a hard choice, on whether you want to shoot wide or go long. When the light if fleeting, you don’t have a lot of time to waste going to your camera bag and change lenses. I had spent the afternoon with my 24-70mm at the truck show, and after arriving at Slack Slough, in five minutes time I went to my 12-24mm and then my 80-400mm until the light got too dim. After cranking the ISO, shooting at f/5.6 wasn’t cutting it, so I switched  to my 80-200mm f/2.8 for a few more minutes shooting. The sun was behind the clouds and the light on the pond was getting dim when I looked up and saw what appeared to be a cloud on fire. I had the 80-200mm mounted so I swivelled around and shot up to the sky.

In the best light…

Leave a Reply

