Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Franklin’s Gull


Franklin's Gull

Slack Slough is a large wetland area on the south end of Red Deer, Alberta. It’s an interesting spot to view birds. We were there one day, mostly to see some ducks and wading birds. I wasn’t able to get very close and I had only brought my 18-135mm lens with me that day. On looking up I spied a Franklin’s Gull circling over head. I managed to grab a few quick frames as it passed by. Luckily, at 135mm it was just the right focal length to catch all of the detail in the bird’s feathers. I’m told by my cousin Ken Richardson, that the pink hue on the gull’s underside is caused by winter feeding on crustaceans in Argentina. The same ones that have a strong effect on Flamingos causing their pinkness. A quick trip through Photoshop CS6 and Nik Color Efex Pro 4 has the image tuned up the way I wanted.

In the best light…

Leave a Reply

