Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Try Again


Light In The Lake

This was my second attempt at shooting the edge of the ice and the water backlit.

Well, it was the second one that I thought might be worthy of posting. There were many that didn’t make the cut as usual. There was a lot of dynamic range in the scene and it was difficult to capture.

Sun Dapple

In an earlier frame, I caught the highlights on the ripples in the lake. The exposure showed things a tad dark, and that made it difficult to see the fine details. I also thought that I’d like to see more of the ice edge in the image. This one I converted to monochrome in Nik Silver Efex Pro 2 and used a copper toning to finish the image.

Taken on the Sunday afternoon field session of the Persistent Vision weekend put on by oopoomoo.com with guest instructor David DuChemin at Vermillion Lakes in Banff National Park.

In the best light…

2 responses

  1. Both are beautiful shots, though I admit I’m more drawn to the second image. I love high contrast photos, and though it’s “dark,” as you say, I think it really works well here.

    Like

    April 19, 2013 at 07:55

    • Thanks Pink Shamrock, I do think the darkness kind of adds to the mystery!
      John

      Like

      April 19, 2013 at 11:37

Leave a Reply

