Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

The Soul’s Window


fina_cover[1]

I first met Dave Brosha last year at a lighting seminar put on by oopoomoo.com. I had been following him on the Internet for a couple of years and had missed a connection in 2010 at the Joe McNally workshop in Calgary. He messaged me later on the web asking why I didn’t say hi. I told him the only picture I’d seen of him was his Twitter avatar. He had on a balaclava with only his eyes showing, so needless to say I didn’t recognize him. Fast forward to 2013, I got to spend more time with Dave at the Persistent Vision weekend, even riding around Banff with him all day Sunday from 6AM. I got to know him a little better. He’s a pretty quiet guy, who knows his stuff, and is serious about his photography.

Did I mention he has a new eBook out? Well actually it came out at the end of February and with everything that I’d been doing, I only now finished reading it. Not that it is really long nor is it hard to read, but it is packed full of valuable information that nearly everyone who takes a picture of someone else will find useful.

page-46_add_4[1]

The eyes being the windows to the soul, Dave Brosha is masterful at recording a connection to the camera. He naturally starts out with “Where do I begin” and takes you through a progression of location, lenses and light. There are also some of his outtakes, some not ready for prime time pictures.

20110923-20110923-IMG_6767[1]

Dave lets you know that not every picture is a winner. You start out and learn from the last picture you took and improve from there. Connecting to the subject is an important aspect of photography that many don’t or won’t practice. It shows in Dave’s work because you connect to his subjects while viewing his images.

Dave came to my attention with his aurora images (which are world class BTW) but I came to know and love his environmental portraits. He generously shares his techniques for shooting in natural light that’s well worth the small asking price for the download.

http://oopoomoo.com/ebook/the-souls-window/

All pictures ©Dave Brosha.

In the best light…

One response

  1. Reblogged this on Michelle Gier Photography and commented:
    Dave Brosha is one of those photographers who is down to earth and open to offering his talents and knowledge. I also met him at a Mastering Environmental Light workshop hosted by oopoomoo.com, I had the priviledge of being introduced to his work through an old aquaintance and have followed him since. It was fabulous to meet him. I was stoked when he put together this ebook. It is a fantastic read and I am looking forward to the next in his series. Interested in getting a copy please visit oopoomoo.com and check out Dave’s work on Facebook, Dave Brosha Photography or his website davebrosha.com.

    Like

    April 17, 2013 at 09:31

Leave a Reply

