Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Hardware Upgrade Time


512GB SSD

I recently suffered from the dreaded Boot Sector corruption. So, instead of replacing the terabyte drive with the same or larger drive, I went with a smaller faster SSD. The Solid State Drive has no moving parts and retains the data storage on memory chips instead of rotating discs. At the same time, I did a few more upgrades. I needed a new video card and put in an Asus HD7750 with 1 GB of GDDR5 memory. I also increased my RAM from 4 to 8 GB and installed Windows 8. I’m still re-installing software. Things pop up that don’t work, and it’s “Darn where is that install disk?” It is an on going process of learning and configuring. Hopefully I’ll come out the other side of this with a faster system and more knowledge.

In the best light…

4 responses

  1. Tracy

    Hi John
    I hope you had a back up.
    Tracy

    Like

    March 11, 2013 at 20:15

    • Thanks Tracy, I was able to recover all of the data, the drive just wouldn’t boot.

      Like

      March 14, 2013 at 23:57

  2. How are things now? I switched to SSD drives just before Persistent Vision and they are pretty quick. Not as quick as some user make them seem, but much faster than traditional drives.

    Like

    April 5, 2013 at 09:18

    • My system is quite fast now. I also switched from Windows 7 (32 bit) to Windows 8 (64 bit) and went from 4 to 8GB of RAM, so I’m not sure what to credit with a massive speed increase!

      Like

      April 5, 2013 at 14:26

Leave a Reply

