Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Top 5 People Pictures Of 2012


Sherri Christmas To All

This year I made a point of taking more people pictures. They are more candids than portraits. I try to catch people when the light is right or make the right light where I can. The first is an outdoor shot of my wife Sherri at night with fill flash.

Scott

My brother-in-law Scott stopped pulling faces at a family reunion last year long enough for me to catch a serious expression in this frame. I thought the determined countenance would suit black and white processing  in Silver Efex Pro 2 with a slight sepia toning.

Mike

My cousin Mike was at the same reunion and was working at a table with some great light coming in the windows from behind him. It was an easy no setup shot. All I had to do was compose and wait for the right appearance.

Samantha

My friend Samantha Chrysanthou from oopoomoo.com is often smiling and a great portrait is easy. The tricky part was the high contrast. The deep shadow under the bill of her cap made it hard to see details. I used the highlight and shadow sliders in Adobe Lightroom to get this under control.

Chillin'

I met this gentleman while I was on a photowalk with our group on Stephen Avenue Walk in downtown Calgary, Alberta. He was kind enough to allow me to photograph him.

Even if you aren’t a people person, you can take better people pictures if you work at it.

In the best light…

Leave a Reply

