Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Shoot What’s There


Winter Evening

Well you know that I’m probably not going to be shooting white sand beaches with palm trees in Canada in January. So, I shoot the white snow fields of the Alberta prairies where I live. We left the warmth of our house on New Year’s Day to do my first outing of the brand new year. We returned to a location that I’ve recorded images from before, where we had permission from the farmer to photograph on his property.

I used 4 frames of a 5 frame bracket. I thought the +2.0 exposure had so little detail that it would be not much use. After processing the frames in HDR Efex Pro 2, I left Adobe Lightroom again to adjust the foreground in Nik Viveza 2.

Nikon D300s, Nikkor 24-70mm, @24mm, f/11.0, ISO 200.

In the best light…

One response

  1. I like the simplicity of this image. Beach and palm trees are very exotic, indeed. But our winter landscape can generate beautiful imagery. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    January 11, 2013 at 05:30

Leave a Reply

