Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Back To Banff


Vermillion Lakes

An over cast day at Vermillion Lakes in Banff National Park is always a treat for me. The shaded light is ideal for it’s evenness. No harsh shadows glare out at and you can explore the details in your scene. I was glad to retain some detail in the clouds above Mount Bourgeau. A tree floating in the lake adds some interest to the foreground.

I had got my D300s wet in the rain at Lake Louise, and it was still drying out when we got back to Banff, so I turned to my backup camera, my old D80.

Nikon D80, Nikkor 24-70mm, @48mm, f/8, 1/125 sec, ISO 900, Adobe Lightroom, Nik Silver Efex Pro 2

In the best light…

Leave a Reply

