Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Use Available Light


Karl-iPhone4s

I wondered what the image quality was like on the iPhone 4s and how much of an improvement it was over the basic iPhone 4 that I currently own. A while back, I “borrowed” my buddy Karl’s 4s and took a picture of him with his own phone. It took me a long time to get him to eMail me a full resolution copy of the picture that I took.

I was actually quite impressed with the ability of the cell phone camera. Often, cell cameras and cheap point and shoot camera perform best in bright sunlight. This image was taken at midnight inside the back of a trailer, using the headlight of his forklift for lighting. I braced his phone on the forklift mast for stability, then composed the image and clicked. He looks surprisingly happy considering the pile of tires that he has to unload to put in other trucks for local deliveries.

So, if someone asks you if you “shoot available light”, answer that you shoot any light available!

In the best light…

2 responses

  1. Karl

    Thanks Fuji. Again sorry took so long. Karl

    Like

    October 22, 2012 at 07:05

    • No Problem Karl, I just glad it turned out so well!

      Like

      October 22, 2012 at 12:48

Leave a Reply

