Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

I Hear Voices


Inukshuk Afternoon

At a recent workshop with Darwin Wiggett and Samantha Chrysanthou, I received some constructive criticism on how to improve my photographs. I have always considered Samantha to be a master of the intimate landscape, images with tighter framing, focusing closer to your main subject. Sam is very careful about objects poking into your images from the edges, and lines and objects that merge with one another.

As I was composing this image, I carefully placed my tripod. I knew that I wanted the inukshuk to placed against the light part of the water. When I got too low, the tree line reflection merged with the foreground rocks, so I moved in closer to get the trees off of the rocks. Some of the composition devices that I used were:

  • The two big rocks form an arrow with a line in the middle pointing to the rock figure.
  • There are three large triangles formed by the trees, rocks and the water.
  • Contrasting the smooth glassy water and the rough textured rocks

Converting the image to monochrome enhanced the contrasts in the image. I hope you are as pleased with this image as I am.

In the best light…

2 responses

  1. Sam would be proud; no pokies, no mergers, well balanced and finely constructed!

    Like

    October 12, 2012 at 05:04

  2. Thane

    John….stunning image.I am drawn towards the contrast between the sunlit and shaded areas of the water,again and again.Well done!

    Like

    October 15, 2012 at 18:34

Leave a Reply

