Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Old Time Harvest


The Threshers

I definitely need to spend more time at Pioneer Acres next year for their Annual Show & Reunion in Irricana, Alberta.

I love seeing this live threshing demonstration. I knew what a thresher was. I’d seen them since I was very young, rusting away in farmyards, but this was the first time I’d seen one working.

I knew that I wanted to show movement and that required a slow shutter speed. I used my Singh-Ray Vari-N-Duo to achieve an exposure of 1/3rd of a second at f/16 in the middle of the day. The vintage subject was perfect for converting to black & white and toning in Nik Silver Efex Pro 2.

Steam Operator

The spinning flywheel powering the thresher had to be shown in motion, this time 1/4th of second at f/11. The gentleman operating the big old steam tractor stayed fairly still and was reasonably sharp. This time I used a slightly yellower tone in the conversion.

In the best light…

2 responses

  1. Reblogged this on Photo by Lagos.

    Like

    September 5, 2012 at 05:15

  2. Pingback: Spinning thresher | Bandbart

Leave a Reply

