Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Personal Loss


YukiTomiyama

My Uncle, Yuki Tomiyama passed away last Friday in my hometown, Taber, Alberta. In my exploration of portraiture, I seemed to have neglected my extended family as subject matter. When I heard that he had died, I went searching my archive and this was the only image that came up. From 2008, he was in much better health when I visited then. I hadn’t brought out my camera again since then, and I’d seen him many times between 2008 and this past June.

I worked for Yuki at his service station in Barnwell, Alberta when I was 13. There I watched him and my other Uncle, Yosh, rebuild engines and repair cars, trucks, and tractors. I learned about points and timing lights, and many more things now left in the dust of today’s computerised auto industry. I did a lot of oil changes that summer, but it instilled in me a love of automobiles that lasts today.

So a reminder to everyone don’t put off taking that picture of a loved one, you can never have too many.

Peony Hybrid

I’ll leave you with an image that I made last year of Yuki’s prized Peony hybrid.

In the best light…

2 responses

  1. Mike Fitton

    Hey John,

    I am so sorry to hear about your Uncle Yuki’s passing. All my condolences for you and your family, and if there is anything I can do, let me know..

    August 6, 2012 at 08:49

  2. Sorry for your loss.

    August 6, 2012 at 09:16

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 705 other followers