Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

People On The Street


Chillin'

As we were wandering up Stephen Avenue Walk taking pictures, I spotted this fellow just sitting on a bench having a smoke.

I thought he had an interesting face. It looked weathered and with the eyes that had seen it all. I kept glancing over at him before I worked up the nerve to ask to take his picture. I snapped a few quick frames and was quite pleased with this one.

My Pain

This was an unusual portrait for me. This lady came up to me as I was walking up the avenue, and said “Take my picture”. She then proceeded to pose for the camera. She turned left and right as the camera snapped away, she then closed her eyes tightly and tilted her head back, and I clicked the shutter to grab this shot. I thought she looked in pain, but after, she gave me two thumbs up and hustled off somewhere else.

Does approaching strangers hold you back from taking more pictures?

In the best light…

2 responses

  1. Nicole Ftacnik Photography

    Nice images. Unfortunately, it does for me. I don’t feel comfortable asking strangers if I can take their picture, but hopefully I’ll get over that sooner rather than later. 🙂

    Like

    August 3, 2012 at 05:27

    • Thanks Nicole, I found it very similar to public speaking, it’s a lot worse thinking about it than doing it!

      Like

      August 5, 2012 at 20:38

Leave a comment