Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Three Verticals


Tower From Stephen Ave

Shooting from Olympic Plaza brought back memories of the medals ceremonies in 1988. I remember a shot of the Calgary Tower with my Nikon FM and a loaner Nikkor 400mm, f/2.8 (from NPS) on Kodachrome.

This time I’m out with my D300s and Nikkor 70-200mm @70mm, @f/2.8, 1/4000 sec, ISO 200, post processed with Adobe Lightroom 4.1 and Nik Silver Efex Pro 2.

Old City Hall

The peak of Old City Hall loomed over the trees on the Stephen Avenue Photowalk that Mike Fitton and I put on last June. Again with my D300s and Nikkor 70-200mm @200mm, @f/2.8, 1/1600 sec, ISO 200, post processed with Adobe Lightroom 4.1 and Nik Silver Efex Pro 2.

Convention

This shot of the Convention Center completes a trio of photographs in a vertical format with vertical elements strong in the compositions. This exposure was with my D300s and Nikkor 70-200mm @70mm, @f/4.0, 1/1250 sec, ISO 200, post processed with Adobe Lightroom 4.1 and Nik Silver Efex Pro 2.

I’ve been a long time user of Nikon’s Capture NX2 but have wanted to use Nik Silver Efex Pro since it came out. I hope you enjoy these monochrome images, there will be more to come.

In the best light…

Leave a Reply

