Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

More Looking Around


Cascade Mountain New View

Something that I’d always advise other photographers is to look around you. I was down by the lake shore at Two Jack Lake in Banff National Park looking at the water, trying to find reflections in the wind rippled waters. I turned away from the lake and looked up at Cascade Mountain towering above me. 3 frames tone mapped and  processed in Photomatix, then finished in Nikon Capture NX2 with Nik Color Efex Pro 3.0. This kept the shadow areas from blocking up and blacking out. I wanted to retain the warm tones from the foreground grasses. I really loved the way the wisps of snow were blowing off of the top of the mountain.

In the best light…

One response

  1. Beautiful shot and I love the HDR work, it’s natural looking and not overdone.

    Like

    January 1, 2012 at 19:15

Leave a Reply

