Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

I’m Back


I Own The Road

“I Own This Road”

After waiting the long weeks with no DSLR, having survived the parts shortages, The Camera Store finally eMailed to say that my camera was back from the service center. I think that I may have been suffering from withdrawal symptoms, no DSLR for just short of 3 months. So I ended up shooting the Worldwide Photowalk with my TLR and my point and shoot. Now, I’m not ragging on The Camera Store, the folks there were great as always, and Nikon has been having their own problems; but I missed the fall season this year, and as a result, may be a bit more grumpy than usual. On Friday I picked up my camera, as good as new, so of course, Saturday morning found me awake earlier than usual. I packed up my gear in the car with the wife and the dog and we headed for Banff.

To make a long story short, we made our way to Banff, and drove up Highway 1A past Johnson Canyon and were just about to Castle Junction when we spotted a bull elk. I pulled over to look at him in the woods when he started coming toward us. Usually, heeding John Marriott’s advice I travel with a long lens attached. This time I didn’t. I shot with my 24-70mm f/2.8 all day and needless to say, it was still attached. I took a shot out the driver’s window with Live View on at 44mm, f/9, 1/125 sec as he nonchalantly crossed the road in front of us. It was a thrill to be that close to a big elk again, and was a highlight of our trip.

In the best light…

One response

  1. I love this photo! It reminds me of the time I drove the Alaska Highway (MANY years ago) and we came up to a female moose, who jumped into the road in front of us sauntering slowly. She kept looking over her shoulder as if to say, “It’s MY road”, live with it!
    Your daily messages and photos are the highlight of my day!
    Chela

    Like

    October 31, 2011 at 13:45

Leave a Reply

