Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Late Summer Flowers


Pink Lily

While visiting friends, I wandered their flower gardens and found a number of fine specimens. I found a brilliant lily in the full sun, by placing a shadow in the background, I was able to contrast the dark shadow and the bright stamens. The closeness required to fill the frame reduced the Depth of Field forcing me to focus on a few of the middle stamens.

Red Iris

A stunning red daylily also caught my eye. This time, I positioned the bloom in the shade against a background of sunlit greenery.  This provided a fairly clean green background which naturally complimented the lily blossom.

Now is a great time to get out and get some great flower images.

In the best light…

4 responses

  1. adrianduque89

    wow! these are amazing flower photos!

    Like

    September 16, 2011 at 08:54

  2. Beautiful!

    Like

    September 17, 2011 at 09:35

  3. John, love the photos! The second one is a daylily, though, not an iris. I love the sharpness of the pollen and the veining in the flower – very nice! The photo in your blog header is really quite beautiful – I see you do some nice sky landscape images.

    Like

    September 17, 2011 at 09:42

    • Thanks, I’ve corrected it now. Originally there was a bunch in the mix and I seem to have gravitated to the daylilies.

      Like

      September 17, 2011 at 22:06

Leave a Reply

