Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Try Something Weird


Weed And Sunset

The sun had gone down and the light was fading and I needed a foreground. The field in front of me had gone dark, and I could have done yet another HDR but wanted something different. There were bunches of big puffball weeds scattered about sticking out above the prairie grasses. I thought about getting below the weeds and shooting them above the skyline but didn’t relish the idea of being on the ground with the biting insects, who seemed to like the taste of Deet and my skin. I had envisioned a silhouette of a puffball against a golden sky but couldn’t get the shot lined up properly. I pulled out my trusty MagLite flashlight and light painted the tall weeds. After a half dozen frames, I got one I liked.

Nikon D80, Nikkor 24-70mm @28mm, f/8.0, 1/30 sec, ISO 1600, Maglite

When was the last time you tried something different?

In the best light…

One response

  1. Tissue Boy

    hey looks pretty sweet.

    Like

    September 2, 2011 at 11:17

Leave a Reply

