Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Bugs By The Water


Bugs By The Water

I saw the bridge pilings and their reflections, and thought they would make a nice image. I liked the backlighting and the rim lighting on the pilings themselves. When I did a quick check on the LCD on the back of my camera the image looked fine but when I opened the image on my desktop monitor, I could see that all of the bugs that were flying around and biting me were also backlit and rimlit! Rather than trying to edit out every little point of light, I thought they added to the ambience of the summer afternoon scene.

Nikon D80, Nikkor 70-200mm @135mm, f/8.0, 1/1000 sec, ISO 800

Do you ever have happy accidents?

In the best light…

Leave a Reply

