Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Identifying Little Birds


Clay Colored Sparrow

When you are in the field, it’s often hard to identify your photographic subjects. Usually it is easy to tell the difference between an Elk and a Moose, but smaller creatures, like birds can be difficult.

We were visiting our friends Doug and Fran, and saw many different little birds at their place. I noticed that they weren’t the usual House Sparrows that are the most common at our place in town. I tried looking up the birds on iBird Explorer Pro on my iPhone, but the little guys were moving fast and I couldn’t get a positive ID. I went ahead and tried to get the best pictures I could. After downloading the images to my desktop machine, I checked the on-screen details with iBird and was able to get a good ID on these birds. It was my first sighting of a Clay-colored Sparrow (above).

Song Sparrow Bathtime

A Song Sparrow came along for an afternoon bath in the garden fountain. I’d seen Song Sparrows before, but again was able to confirm the ID with iBird Explorer Pro. After using birding guide books for many years the eGuide is easier and faster to use, and iBird is the best one I’ve found.

It was nice to see wild birds involved in a normal activity like bathing on a hot summer afternoon.

In the best light…

One response

  1. Doug

    Thank you Fuji for the close up photos of the birds bathing. D.

    Like

    August 28, 2011 at 11:45

Leave a Reply

