Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Aware Of The Bear


Momma Grizz

We had just come off of the The Rockpile at Moraine Lake, I was at the truck putting my gear away, when someone said “There are bears up there!”.

I was just getting into the driver’s seat and got back out to grab my camera from the back, then put on my 70-200mm f/2.8. It was already 8:45 pm and the light was fading, so I wanted my fastest long lens. With that in mind, I cranked up the ISO to 1600 to shoot wide open at f/2.8 and managed to keep the shutter speed up to 1/400 sec. It was a mother grizzly bear with two cubs munching on the vegetation just above the parking lot.

Light Grizz Cub

Both of the cubs were soaking wet from the downpour earlier in the evening. One was a lighter color and the other darker.

Dark Grizz Cub

In the five minutes between photographing the mother and the cubs the light had fallen off enough to lengthen my shutter speed to 1/320 sec. 

Later, when trying to leave the area, after the bears moved into the forest, the crowd was getting bigger and one lady with a video camera started sneaking into the trees after them. This was too much for my wife. She got out of the vehicle and started toward the woman shouting “Hey Stupid”. The woman with the camcorder beat a hasty retreat as my wife lectured her on endangering the bears.

If you are concerned about wildlife, join the Facebook group Save Banff’s Wildlife.

In the best light…

One response

  1. Pingback: John Fujimagari’s Best Of Twenty Eleven « ©jw fujimagari blog

Leave a Reply

