Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Dealing With Obstructions


The Old House

I loved the look of this old cabin in the middle of a canola field but there was a strip of tall thistles around the field.

Bringing out a telephoto lens let me zoom in to the old structure and avoid the high weeds.

Away In The Field

I really wanted a wider view of the field to make the cabin appear smaller in the frame. But how did I deal with the thistles that would have to deal with. I suppose I could have gone over the fence, cut down the offending thistles and done the farmer a favour. Being a little lazier than that, I folded up my tripod with the legs extended and held everything over my head. The camera was over ten feet in the air with the self-timer on and the lens pointed in the direction that I wanted. It took about 4 or 5 attempts before I got one with the framing that I wanted, but I was pleased with the result.

In the best light…

5 responses

  1. Lovely shots!

    Like

    August 3, 2011 at 06:17

  2. mewithmycamera

    well done…good post, i’ve never thought about doing that, i’m going to use that trick when needed

    Like

    August 3, 2011 at 07:40

  3. I love these shots. That field seems to go on forever – and what a great place for a hut!

    Like

    August 3, 2011 at 10:33

  4. wow nice photos!

    Like

    August 3, 2011 at 14:10

  5. thats beautiful, i love the first one. that old shack adds the perfect touch to the scene

    Like

    August 3, 2011 at 19:39

Leave a Reply

