Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Natural Light Portraiture


Maggie And Anne

I stopped by to visit one of my aunts (Margaret left) and another aunt (Anne right) was visiting her.  My Dad had five sisters and I haven’t kept touch with all of them really well. It was the first time that I’d seen Aunt Anne in a good number of years and I knew that I had to take a picture of both of them. There was a lovely soft light coming in from the north windows. Instead of lining them up outside, I had them sit together in that great light. There was enough ambient light in the room to keep the side lighting from throwing the faces into darkness.

A few seconds of examining the available light can help turn snapshots into portraits.

In the best light…

One response

  1. What beautiful ladies! Thank you for sharing them with us. Beautiful photo too!

    Like

    July 6, 2011 at 14:11

Leave a Reply

