Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Cochrane Fire Department Engine 51


Cochrane Emergency Services, Engine 51

We were in Cochrane the other day and stopped at a strip mall. There was this beautiful Fire Engine just sitting in the parking lot.

Of course, I had to go over and get a quick picture of it. Yeah, right, like just one; I’m sure my wife Sherri was thinking.

Cochrane Emergency Services, Engine 51

The bright white is different from most Fire Apparatus that I’ve seen lately. I like the return to the red Fire Engine that is now common and am glad of the decline of the fluorescent green that started coming in about 20 or 30 years ago. This white unit has a nice clean look that is also quite pleasing.

Cochrane Emergency Services, Engine 51

As I worked my way around the Fire Truck, one of the firemen came out of establishment they were visiting.

Cochrane Emergency Services, Engine 51

I was expecting the “you’ll have to step away” speech that I’ve heard on occasion.

Cochrane Emergency Services, Engine 51  Cochrane Emergency Services, Engine 51

Instead, the Fireman asked if I wanted to see the inside! Uh, YEAH! That was a no-brainer.

Cochrane Emergency Services, Engine 51

The old pressure gauges and dials that used to be located on the exterior of the side of the unit, has now been moved to the interior with electronic readouts and controls, Don’t ask me what they do, I just got the LCDs on the back of my cameras and flash units figured out.

Cochrane Emergency Services, Engine 51  Cochrane Emergency Services, Engine 51

The young Fireman proudly told us the truck was brand new, and it looked like it was. Everything was spotless and polished to a gleaming shine. It even had the new truck smell inside. I thanked the firemen before they went on their way.

I hope you’ll make room if you see one of these bad boys headed down the road with the lights and siren going.

In the best light…

One response

  1. Yeps that is our NEW fire engine!
    It was in my community last week. Half of the sidings on a house basically were blown away. And the guys were there to clean up the aftermath.

    Like

    May 18, 2011 at 16:47

Leave a Reply

