Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Go Wide


Sunset Clouds And Moon

 

Travelling south after work the other day, I came across an unbelievable sky. Even though I was in a bit of a hurry, I just had to stop and take some pictures.

I used Panorama Maker by ArcSoft which came bundled with my Nikon P6000. I managed to keep the moon in the shot after stitching together the pano. By bumping the contrast and adding a graduated neutral density filter in software, I think the image pops a little more.

Sunset Near Mossleigh

I used the Pano app from Debacle Software on the iPhone to grab the above shot. It is a 3 vertical image stitch that was uploaded to Flickr directly from the iPhone. I have a tendency to turn my whole body when shooting the pano, doing this can create anomalies in your panoramas. This accounts for the slightly irregular edge of the road.

 Sunset Arch

Another image from the Pano App. This time 4 verticals stitched together.

Mossleigh Sunset Pano

Back to the P6000, I used a 3 image horizontal stitch to create this image.  I then loaded the image in Nikon Capture NX2 and used Distortion Control to straighten the horizon which was looking bowl shaped. This accentuated the cloud arch, and using a Grad ND from Color Efex Pro, I darkened the upper sky and further highlighted the bright color in the clouds. No changes were made to saturation. Then it was back in the vehicle and off to my destination. That was after I took the pictures, not after I did the post processing…

Some scenes call out to the extra wide format. Have you seen or captured an image that had to be a panorama?

In the best light…

Leave a Reply

