Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

In A Pinch


IMG_0440

We were on our way home after an Easter dinner with friends, when we spotted the sky coloring up.

My DSLR was in it’s case at home, as was my trusty point and shoot, but I did have my iPhone in my pocket. I was certain that we’d miss the sunset altogether if we went home for cameras and came back out, so I thought I’d wing it with the iPhone.

IMG_0426

I found a location with water in the foreground that reflected  the color of the sunset sky. I shot the two verticals first and the horizontal image at the top was actually at a second location about a half mile away.

IMG_0422

The light quickly faded and we turned around and headed for home. I would have preferred the larger RAW format image from either my D300s or P6000, but thought the smaller JPEG files from the iPhone held up fairly well. That’s what happens when you aren’t prepared to shoot whenever you leave the house. I would have been happy to just witness the spectacle but I’m glad I didn’t miss this photo op entirely. Are you always ready when stunning imagery presents itself?

In the best light…

One response

  1. They turned out well for an iPhone, great job John!!!!

    Like

    May 1, 2011 at 18:56

Leave a Reply

