Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

I Like The Night Light


I Like The Night Light

If you want to have a really different look to your images, try going out at night and taking pictures.

This one was taken while parked at a road closure with my Nikon P6000. 24mm, f/6.9, 1.1sec, ISO 400, handheld (while resting the base on the top of the steering wheel). The oncoming truck has LED lights installed and their lights pulse at a high rate not normally visible to the human eye, but it shows up in the camera as a dotted pattern, kind of a neat effect.

Karl And The Goat

This environmental portrait of my buddy Karl was taken using only ambient light. The yard light and the work lights and headlights from our trucks are all contributing to lighting this scene. Taken with the P6000, 6mm, f/3.6, 0.5 sec, ISO 400, handheld VR on.

Cat Dump Truck Chassis

I found this oversized load parked on a pull out near Brooks, Alberta. It’s lit with the headlights of my vehicle. Again taken with the Nikon P6000, 6mm, f/3.6, 1sec, ISO 400, handheld VR on. For you machinery geeks out there, it’s the chassis of a large Cat mine truck on a 64 wheel Aspen trailer.

The Lemon Squeezer

The last image was taken in Taber, Alberta at about midnight. The building is part of the High School/ Junior High and used to be the Choral Music room when I attended this school back in the “dark” ages. For obvious reasons, we called it the “Lemon Squeezer”. As you might have guessed, I shot this with my P6000, 7.3mm, f/4.0, 2.6 sec, ISO 400, using a bean bag and self timer. I did color correction to remove the orange tone from the sodium lights and noise reduction to improve the image.

Try to get out with your camera at night and see what you can find to shoot in a different light.

In the best light…

2 responses

  1. Mike Fitton

    Great images John! I should really get off my butt and do more night time photography this year..!

    The “Lemon Squeezer” School Building was right next to the flat roof building you can see in your picture just left of it. I know it well..lol. I delivered many lifts of plywood onto the roof when they were re-doing the roof… I kept thinking I better not hit those spikes with the picker…hehe

    Hopefully we can get together again this summer and do a shoot again buddy 🙂

    Like

    April 6, 2011 at 19:25

  2. Dean Waddle

    nice shots John , I think Frank Sudol would have approved .

    Like

    April 23, 2013 at 22:13

Leave a Reply

