Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Snow What’s The Deal With iPhone?


023A

If you’d asked me a year ago, I’d have said “What’s the big deal about the iPhone?’” I saw a few really good apps that looked useful, but I have a Nikon D300s and a Coolpix P6000.

Well, I now have to change my tune. The deal is, the iPhone is a lot of fun, especially for a self-confessed gadget geek like me. There are a ton of different camera apps for the iPhone. Each one different effects and filters, some are specialized and others are quite general. One of the better ones is Camera+ from tap tap tap is on sale for $0.99, currently. I used the app for the above snap of rabbit tracks in the snow drifts.

021A

022A

The Hipstamatic app creates instant vintagelike images. Their tag line is “Digital Photography Never Looked So Analog”. You can change “film”, lenses and even flashes. Only $1.99 for a limited time. Plus, additional “Hipstapaks” are available to add lenses, films and flashes.

029A

Chase JarvisBest Camera app usually does better than on this little test, but the light got a lot brighter and the iPhone somehow didn’t compensate for this exposure, making it look quite washed out. I’ve actually been using this app quite a bit and was one of the first paid apps that I bought $2.99.

2011-03-23101540DSCN3779

For a control image, I’ve included an un-retouched image from my Nikon Coolpix P6000.

Try experimenting with filters, even if you don’t have an iPhone. You can use regular filters on your film camera or software filters on your digital images. I’ve even seen people shooting through gels or colored cellophane to get the look they wanted.

In the best light…

One response

  1. Laurel Watson

    Unlike you, I rarely have a camera with me so the iPhone camera is really handy for those moments when I’d like to take a photo. And the camera itself in the new version is so much better than the one provide in the earliest version.

    Thanks for the info about camera apps. I’ll have to try one.

    Like

    March 28, 2011 at 11:39

Leave a Reply

