Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Photo Basics – Look Both Ways


Winter Sunset

I know that I’m always on the lookout for a great sunset. A bit of interest and great color are elements that make a good photo.

Don’t get too focused on what you think you want, and make sure to look around to make sure that you aren’t missing things.

Under An Evening Sky

This second image was taken three minutes after the top one, but at 180 degrees. I shot the sunset, and then turned around and got this capture of what the sunset was lighting. It has a totally different mood but I think it is still an excellent image.

Sunset Clouds

I turned back around and captured a bit of the last light on a smaller section of the sky with this dramatic dark cloud front and center. Keep shooting and remember to always look around for more subjects.

In the best light…

2 responses

  1. I’m certainly missing those big Alberta skies. I was trying to get back to Canada and get a start with the Kindersley subsidiary, HWT, out of Calgary as I drove OTR for H&R a couple of years back, but no luck, so I’ll have to just look at your fantastic pictures!

    Like

    March 23, 2011 at 10:15

  2. Gorgeous sunset images. Nice use of the road perspective. 🙂

    Like

    March 23, 2011 at 10:36

Leave a Reply

