Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Another Look Back


On A Break

Back in the day, when I was still in school, I’d load up my little camera with Kodak Plus-X or Tri-X film and just head out walking, or riding my bike to take pictures.

I had a fairly small camera and would often pop up and take candid portraits, like the one above.

Fujica New Compact 35©Tatsuya Ishiguro

Here’s a photo of the camera that I was using then. It was a great little camera, just add film, no batteries required. Thanks to Tatsuya Ishiguro for the use of the image.

 

Back Of The Factory

I just wandered where I wanted without a concern for security, without a safety vest, or any other modern concern. Mostly people just let me do my own thing, clicking away.

Beet Dump

I was happy to be in the outdoors recording my view of the world around me. I’d like to recapture the wonder that I then used to approach the world.

My above images were taken (I believe) in the fall of 1974 at the Canadian Sugar Factory (now Roger’s Sugar). All three were developed and printed by me at the time they were taken.

In the best light…

Leave a Reply

