Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

What Are You Looking At?


Are You My Friend?

My wife love all kinds of critters, especially dogs. She’s often walking up to people on the street and asking to say hello to their dog.

Most people are more than happy to have her meet their pet. I try to keep a camera with me at all times. Often when we are in the grocery store parking lot, I’ve got my Nikon P6000 in my pocket, ready to bring out at a moment’s notice. Zeke is still a young St Bernard, and was quite active and hard to track. I really like the above image, it makes me laugh.

What's Over There

More of a classic view of Zeke.

Pulls to the Left

This little Pekinese knew who was in charge. I moved away at first when I saw him coming, so I could set up the shot.

2 Color Eyes

This was kind of an automatic High-Key image. Taking a picture of a white and black dog against a background of new snow was asking for trouble but I think it worked out in the end. You can see the flakes of snow on the black fur, and the two color eyes and interest to the portrait.

So, if you don’t have an icebreaker like my wife, you’ll have to approach people with pets on your own. I’ve found most folks love to talk about their animal companions.

In the best light…

2 responses

  1. Dorothy

    love these shots — but then again critters always make interesting shots I love the one with 2 different eyes that is such a striking pic.

    Like

    March 7, 2011 at 22:09

  2. So cute, I really like the St. Bernard shots reminds me of our St. Bernard we once had

    Like

    March 9, 2011 at 20:31

Leave a Reply

