Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

A Drive On A Wintery Day


Winter Trees

We went out for a drive the other day. For a change, we took my wife’s car. I grabbed my camera but find it less convenient to work with all of my equipment from her car. In a bout of laziness, I decided to give myself a  self assignment; To shoot with only one lens for the day.

I chose my Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8 to use for the day. I’ve been using my 24-70mm quite a bit lately and it has turned into my “go to” all purpose lens. I thought the longer focal length of the 70-200 would force me to find more details or tighter landscapes. I don’t think I was wrong about this idea.

I thought the back lit saplings made a striking contrast against the blue sky and white snow in the foreground.

Winter Windmill

I have always liked windmills. When I spotted this one out in a field in a snowy landscape, i couldn’t resist taking the picture. I used Nik Color Efex Pro / Glamour Glow every where except the windmill to soften the back ground.

In the best light…

Leave a Reply

