Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Memory Lane – Oct 16, 2008


I’m reposting a day from my trip to Four Corners, from another blog, every Wednesday.

Day Nine

Slept in today until after 8am, got up and went downtown for breakfast. We went to the Grand Canyon Cafe, on Old Route 66, it looked like and was an old timey eatery. There were mostly locals there and we were the only tourists, great food.

Grand Canyon Cafe

After we wandered around Historic Downtown Flagstaff and enjoyed the sights.

On our way to Sedona we stopped at the Oak Creek Canyon Viewpoint to check things out.

Hobie and Sherri walking out to the Oak Creek Canyon Viewpoint

There were an number of native vendors selling their wares by the parking lot. I saw a small lizard (2 inches) by the railing on my way to the edge. I tried to get his picture but he was too cagey for the likes of me. Then we went down the hill and around the switchbacks. Then we followed the road down one of the most picturesque canyons I’ve ever seen, with trees hanging over the road and the creek running beside it, it was just so peaceful. The Best Western we are staying at is the first major hotel coming from the north. It’s perched on the edge of the canyon and is very well appointed. Our room has a gorgeous view of the canyon.

Sherri and Hobie on the balcony

After checking in, Sherri (who was still recovering from a sore throat) rested in the room, and Hobie and I wandered down to the TLaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village to peruse the wares. They were working on the road south of the “Y” and traffic was terrible, but worth the wait.

Glass Shop John looking at the blown glass

Please Note: I am studiously keeping my hands in my pockets and resisting the urge to touch!!!

On the way back, cutting through a back street, we found Sally’s Mesquite BBQ Grill and took BBQ Beef Brisket and BBQ Pulled Pork back to the room to have supper with Sherri. We’re meeting Tami tomorrow in Phoenix, I might cut back on the activities, I’m definitely not going out to shoot at sunrise tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

