Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Memory Lane – Oct 15, 2008


I’m reposting a day from my trip to Four Corners, from another blog, every Wednesday.

Day Eight

I wanted to shoot the sunrise at Grand Canyon so I got up at 5:15am but I forgot to get everything prepped the night before. So I lost time and was at the bus stop by 5:36 in time to see the bus leave. After waiting a half hour for the next one we motored to the Information Centre and I went to the far side to catch the bus to Yaki Point where the map at the bus stop said it was. There I waited another half hour to see the second bus bypass the stop where I waited. I figured out the bus was going to the same bus stop where I got off of the first bus. So I ended up arriving at Yaki Point at 6:45am about 10 minutes after sunrise. Oh well, shit happens. I shot until 8:00am and I still got some great pictures.

Moon at Sunrise

There was still a lot of haze in the air as you can see by the above photo. After I got back to the room, we packed up and went for breakfast. After brekky we went to the store and picked up a few items, and to the Post Office for Hobie to mail some stuff.

HF-20081015_115826

Then we went to the Village to The Hopi House, a famous Grand Canyon landmark, built just after the turn of the century. The Hopi House was built in a style to pay homage to Hopi styles. They deal in Native arts and crafts, and have a large selection of unclaimed “Pawn” items.

Finishing examining the Hopi House, we returned to the car and headed south away from the canyon. We went through Tusayan and turned east on US180 and arrived in Flagstaff just after 2:00pm. We checked in at the Little America Hotel and grabbed a take-out lunch, then proceeded to the Arboretum at Flagstaff. It was a little late in the season but still interesting.

Cattails

After looking at plants and trees we motored back across town to Jeanette’s house.

HF-20081015_185046 HF-20081015_184944

We met my cousin Jeanette, Kent and the kids (and the hamster). Kent and Jeanette had to get going to practice for the Flagstaff Symphony, so we didn’t have long to visit. It was nice to see her again and meet her family. I can’t remember when the last time was, I’m sure I was still living at home in Taber. (Oh yes, Hobie is wearing the same hoody I’m wearing in front of the Hopi House. She felt cold at the Arboretum)

We got back to the Hotel and had supper here. I had a long soak in the hot tub, trying to ease some of the aches I’ve acquired this week. We will be in Sedona tomorrow.

One response

  1. Great shot! I also love those cat tails!

    Like

    September 22, 2010 at 11:04

Leave a Reply

