Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Robbed of Sunset


2010-08-19205725_JWF7124

August 19, 2010, 8:57pm. Sunset was at 8:50pm, but the sky hadn’t changed since we arrived at this location. There’s a little bit of pink in the upper part of this image. The smoke is so thick you couldn’t even get a hint of actual location of the sun. Getting a shot of the sunset through the smoke was out.

2010-08-19205414_JWF7121

I used my 70-200mm to compress the scene and highlight the smokeyness. I thought that this image seemed flat and lacked definition.

Smoke and Grain Bins

I did a 3 image HDR to bring out more details. I used Pro Contrast from Nik Color Efex 3.0 to add more definition. A few color control points in Nikon Capture NX2 warmed up the blue looking wheat, UnSharp Mask and I’m done.

One response

  1. Sherri Fujimagari

    The more I look at these images, the more I remember the smell of burnt trees and damp crops. Yup, I like ’em.

    Like

    August 30, 2010 at 00:58

Leave a Reply

