Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Faces of the Festival


With an abundance of people at the Mountain View Music Festival, I thought it might be a good time to work on my portraiture skills.

Jewelry Making

Amber Baggett is from Innisfail, Alberta, and she makes jewellery and beads from glass. She is concentrating very hard on her work. The flame makes a nice focal point and is where her attention is centered. I chose a wide aperture to keep the focus front and center, and to showcase her work.

Lyndsay

Lyndsay is a beautiful young woman, who my wife and I have known for many years.  The back lighting created a rim light on her that almost glowed.

Darrel

I think this image captures my friend Darrel. He’s always happy and smiling. He and his wife Suzy have been travelling with Fred Eaglesmith for over a month. A few years ago, they packed things up and moved to Ontario, our loss.

After the Show

This pretty lady’s name is Tiffani Ginn, and she sang with Fred Eaglesmith. After their set, she brought her son by Fred’s merchandise table where I took this picture.

Kori Heppner - The Drummer

Kori Heppner is the drummer for Fred Eaglesmith. Her interesting hair and bright personality made her a good subject. I noticed that I often missed shooting the drummer when the performers were on stage. They are hard to see from in front of the stage and to the sides where I was. Kori did make me pay more attention to drummers. 😉 My friend Mike Corrado had backstage access to Nickelback and set up a remote camera to get this great shot of Daniel Adair. Maybe next year I’ll get a backstage pass.

In the meantime, I’ll keep taking portraits. Maybe I can take yours?

More shots from the stage coming soon…

3 responses

  1. Ruth Knox

    Great shots! Such a variety gives great flavour to the mood of the festival.

    Like

    August 13, 2010 at 07:56

  2. You did some awesome portraits, you can come do some of us anytime you want (I’ll find a way yet to get you two out here to visit)…great focus, lighting and you have a nice ‘touch’ with your subjects.

    Like

    August 13, 2010 at 11:17

  3. You caught a flavour of the Festival I would have missed. Thanks for being an extra set of ‘eyes’ for us.

    Like

    August 13, 2010 at 22:20

Leave a Reply

