Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Memory Lane – Trip to Four Corners


Over the next couple of months, I’ll be reposting my trip to the American Southwest. There will be one day on each post, arriving every Wednesday. The trip was 11 days leaving from Calgary, Alberta, Canada and flying to Phoenix, Arizona, USA. We visited Arizona, New Mexico, Colorado and Utah. I’ve revisited my archive from the adventure, and have reprocessed a number of previously unpublished images to share with you.

Round Tower and Keyhole Doorway

When I finally got a Nikon D80 in late 2007 and made a New Year’s Resolution to return to Arizona. I had trucked there quite a bit in the ‘80s and ‘90s, but hadn’t gotten much off of the main highways. Inspired by Ansel Adams, Tony Hillerman and Louis L’Amour; I planned to see much of the Four Corners area. The reality of time constraints forced me to pare down much of my original itinerary. Finally late in the fall of 2008, I still managed to visit at least one special place in each of the four corner states.

Mesa Verde National Park was the best educational experience of the vacation. We took a tour and the information provided by the park rangers was invaluable. Above is some details of Cliff Palace, where I was able to walk down into the ruins with a ranger guide.

Canyon de Chelly Raven

Canyon de Chelly was the ‘holy cow’ location for the trip. Amazing scenery and an awe inspiring canyon. With a raging dust storm above, the canyon was fairly clear. The dust storm was the remenants of a tropical storm that travelled up the Gulf of California and across Arizona. It was also responsible for the massive power outage that closed the hotel where we wanted to stay. The ravens were enjoying the updrafts and riding the currents up and down the 600 foot cliffs.

Dreams of Shiprock

I was rushing to Farmington after the trouble in Chinle. The road passed through an arroyo and I looked to my right to see Shiprock framed by the V of the arroyo. It still bothers me that I didn’t stop to get the picture. Shiprock is visible from much of the entire Four Corners region. The monolith seemed to taunt me as I travelled away from it. It’s image has been burned into my memories. This view is from over 25 miles away.

So, starting tomorrow and running into October, there will be another post, in the Memory Lane category, every Wednesday. I hope you will enjoy!

5 responses

  1. Gorgeous shots John, I really like the first one

    Like

    August 3, 2010 at 20:46

    • Thanks Consuelo, it was quite an experience.

      Like

      August 4, 2010 at 00:00

  2. Fuji, your post was wonderful not just for your words and your phenomenal images – which are always top notch! What really tugged me and reminded me was your closing words about the photos missed that still haunt you – yeah I’ve had my share of those too…thanks for taking us with you on your journey!

    Like

    August 5, 2010 at 08:33

  3. Oh and I want a print of the Raven photo… AMAZING! 😉

    Like

    August 5, 2010 at 08:35

    • Thanks Shanyn, Glad you enjoyed it!

      Like

      August 6, 2010 at 01:52

Leave a Reply

