Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Just Do It


I’ve been working on getting out more for quick shoots near my home. While I’m not advocating “Speed Landscapes” (or the photographic equivalent of speed dating), I’m finding out that you don’t always need a lot of time to go out and get some great images.

Checking back on my previous post An Alberta Evening, the three images were actually taken over a 10 minute period! We were out a bit longer and the total time out of the house was less than one hour.

Canola and Treeline

7:50 PM

Out the door and six miles from home our first stop yields a canola field and a mature tree line. We spent a while here and I’ve posted a few more from this location on my Flickr Photostream.

Golden Grains

8:14 PM

A few miles up the road and over the next hill, the evening light turns a field of wheat truly golden.

Evening Buck

8:18 PM

An unexpected find minutes up the road, a nice young Mule Deer Buck. He was beside the road when we first spotted him but I took the time to change to my 70-200mm for this shot. Out the side window with the bean bag, no problem.

Curious Cows

8:20 PM

Fifty yards and two minutes later, another out the window shot. Great rim lighting on this curious cow.

Canola and Moon

8:27 PM

Another 100 yards down the road, we pulled into an approach, set up the tripod and grabbed this great shot of the moon over a canola field.

So in about an hour and fifteen minutes and maybe 16 miles, I captured 5 pretty decent shots. Don’t put it off, get out there and Just Shoot It!

5 responses

  1. The landscape image with the deer is excellent, great photograph.

    Like

    July 28, 2010 at 13:35

  2. Great post. We all can make time to go out and shoot even if it is only an hour here and there. I need to go to the post office, walk the dog and get groceries today. But rather than drive to do my errands (yes a dog can be walked while driving a car). I am going to walk around town doing errands and take my point-n-shoot and grab some shots.

    I went out last night after supper for an hour as well and got a couple of really nice images. Darwin

    Like

    July 28, 2010 at 13:35

  3. Excellent post John, thanks for the motivation!!! Great images as well!!!

    Like

    July 28, 2010 at 13:44

  4. I did it Fuji, went outside just after reading your post, wandered around the yard and got some great shots of the flowers with the sun behind them…wind made catching them tricky but it was worth it to see, and taste, the little outdoor break! Berries are ripe, garden is blooming and the flowers and birds are bright and happy…

    Like

    July 28, 2010 at 13:55

  5. Nice post John! At the start of my “Photo A Day” project for this year I had a hard time leaving the house some days, thinking that I had to go on a full out 2-4 hour shoot and then process the results of that shoot. The more I shoot this year..the less I shoot…if that makes sense, or maybe it just doesn’t seem forced anymore. I find that just heading out for 30-60 minutes can yield some great shots that I otherwise would have watched from my living room window. Good lesson here! JL

    Like

    July 29, 2010 at 15:46

Leave a Reply

