Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

An Alberta Evening


A Road Less Travelled

I had just arrived home and we were starting to get some color in the sky. We quickly scarfed down some supper and headed out the door. I told Sherri that she was in charge of navigating, so I drove and she said where to turn. As she directed me down this side road I braked and pulled over. I loved the curve in the road and I just parked the truck and opened the door. I shot this with the camera resting on the door frame.

Sunset, Clouds and Canola

Up that road we found a canola field that I had previsualized for my foreground. The sky was coloring up nicely and there were some great wispy clouds in the sky. The puffy cloud in the upper right was lower in the sky and was lit with a richer color.

Evening Light

For a totally different looking scene, all I had to do was turn around. I just picked up my camera and tripod and walked over to the neighbouring field and faced in the other direction. The clouds were front lit with the colored light instead of back lit like in the two previous images. There was still just a little light hitting the tall grasses in the foreground while the wheat field behind them, was mostly in shadow.

The contrast was very high and I needed to control it so the shadow areas wouldn’t be black silhouettes or having the skies blown out. All three of these images are 3 shot HDR images processed in Photomatix and Capture NX2. The top image turned out pretty good for a handheld HDR.

5 responses

  1. Wow, three great shots, bang, bang, bang! My fav is the road shot – perfect!

    Like

    July 20, 2010 at 15:42

  2. Sean Bateman

    FABULOUS prairie shots!!!

    Like

    July 21, 2010 at 11:09

  3. Pingback: Just Do It « ©jw fujimagari blog

  4. Pingback: 2010 in review « ©jw fujimagari blog

  5. Gorgeous photos . . .. all three of them . .. you have great talent.

    Like

    January 3, 2011 at 08:27

Leave a Reply

