Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Crossing the South Saskatchewan


Approach

On my way to Leader, Saskatchewan, I chose a route that would have me crossing the South Saskatchewan River at Estuary, SK. I hadn’t been on a river ferry in quite some time. South of Acadia Valley, Alberta it started to rain. The whole area had received record quantities of precipitation in the last week or so, and I was wondering if I should skip the river crossing in favour of a downstream bridge. In the end, I threw caution to the wind and headed down the road to the ferry.

Crossing Empty

The ferry was on the other side when I arrived, so the ferryman had to come across to the north bank to load my vehicle. I sat in my little truck waiting for him to arrive. When he touched the north shore, the ramp was lowered and the operator swiftly and efficiently tied off and prepared for me to board.

2010-06-16132754DSCN1717

 

I stood outside and chatted as we got underway. I was surprised when the motor was shutdown. The angle of the ferry is adjusted and the current propels the vessel across the river. The engine is restarted to operate the ramp and manoeuvre when landing.

Estuary, Saskatchewan Ferry

There are a number of toll free river ferries operating in both Alberta and Saskatchewan. I highly recommend taking a short ferry ride for something different in your next drive.

2 responses

  1. Ruth Knox

    Looks like a fun little trip. I’d like to take that ferry ride some day. Looking forward to your pics!

    Like

    June 17, 2010 at 04:31

  2. Pingback: Welcome! Medicine Hat, Alberta

Leave a Reply

