Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Rainy Days and Wednesdays


Wet Stripes

I’m not fond of overcast, rainy days, and waiting around for a load just makes me grouchy. One of the forklift drivers where I was loading, ran into the corner of a 3 story shelving unit and bent the leg. The entire rack had to be unloaded, so the thing wouldn’t fall over, but I digress. The end result was, I had to wait and was 3 hours late leaving Calgary on Wednesday. Usually I do little things around the truck while I wait, like the windows or generally cleaning up. When it rains, the interior gets humid if the truck isn’t running and I don’t feel like cleaning.

So, as I was sitting there grumpily, I watched the water droplets run down the windows. I started wondering how much I could isolate the water drops from the background with my little point and shoot. After a few tries I put the Nikon P6000 in macro mode to get the autofocus to focus on the windows instead of the background. The above image has the side of a trailer in front of me. Many of the droplets are repeating the two red stripes.

Wet Green

This image was taken out the side window and the camera is much closer to the glass.I thought the green would be a more interesting background. You can see the upside down images in the water drops.

I’m changing my opinion about when is a good time to take pictures.

<<< Edit >>>
Wet Green (detail)

Here’s a detail crop as suggested by Lee Sacrey. It’s a 100% crop of a few of the droplets on the window.

3 responses

  1. Pretty cool photos for a grouchy guy! I love the rivlets on the green background.
    Ruth

    Like

    June 12, 2010 at 14:21

  2. Hey John,
    There is always something to shoot and you have proven that again. I love the upside down images in the water drops. Can you crop down to one of the bigger drops and see how clear the upside down image is? Anyway another great post, I love it.

    Like

    June 12, 2010 at 14:53

  3. Pingback: The sprinkler, the dog and the girls – A love story. « Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Leave a Reply

