Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

What’s in a Name?


The Three Sisters

(cc) Klachak

Image used under a Creative Commons License from klachak.

In this image we have the Threes Sisters in Oregon.

(cc) Corey Leopold

Image used under a Creative Commons License from Corey Leopold.

Here we have the Three Sisters Formation near Katoomba in the Blue Mountains west of Sydney Australia.

The Three Sisters

Monument Valley has a Three Sisters too!

Three Sisters and CloudsOf course locally we have Canmore, Alberta’s own Three Sisters.

Doing a search for the “Three Sisters” can bring up images from these four (and more) very different locations. This shows the importance of proper tagging of your images. You need to have the subject and location information in the EXIF or ITPC (file embedded) information on every picture. This can also include shooting information, such as ISO, lens opening and shutter speed. I also include Geo Location information on most of my images. Some photographers won’t include this, because they have secret locations or possibly for reasons of privacy. Nearly all of my pictures have been taken in public locations and I don’t feel the need to be so private. Many people do not realize in Photoshop, “Save for Web” will strip out all of this information. Using an HDR program can also remove this info from your files. Proper tagging has resulted in many more viewings of my images. I have checked my stats for referrers and there are many that turn up on image searches.

I use Photo Mechanic for my tagging and keywording tasks. Also, I have a Controlled Vocabulary installed in Photo Mechanic, so that I have consistent tags across all of my images. This is also known as Structured Keywords. I think it helps make my images appear more professional. There are many other ways to insert Tags or Keywords. Most Photo Editors have this capability and you can always add tags in Flickr once the file has been uploaded.

One response

  1. RK

    hey.. good to see all the sisters in 1 place 🙂
    yup, tagging is very important and makes things easier to find/organize.

    Like

    March 15, 2010 at 20:33

Leave a Reply

