Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Does It Have To Be Sharp?


Lone Tree

Normally, I’m a sharpness freak. I like to see crisp edges to objects in my images, everything tack sharp. Once in a while there comes an image like this one. I wasn’t as steady as I thought I was, or the focus was off, but still liked the composition. So I added Glamour Glow for an even softer look with Nik Software’s Color Efex Pro 4. The rustic frame also comes from CFxP4, and contributes to the mellow mood.  When the subject is unclear, sometimes it simplifies the message. The image is no longer about the specific location or tree or sunset. To me it infers that it could be any location or tree or sunset. It also suggests possibilities, like “What’s over the horizon?”.

In the best light…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 820 other followers