Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Black And White At Glenbow Ranch


Aspen Grove

Buying Silver Efex Pro 2 from Nik Software was like getting a new toy. I had to resist the urge to try it out on everything. I thought this aspen grove was a suitable subject.

I really just stopped to catch my breath while walking up a steep grade and looked around. I thought the white trunks of the trees were quite striking and composed this image with monochrome in mind. I shot wide open for a shallower depth of field.

Hills & Clouds

I’m usually a guy who is big on big color, but when I started seeing the lines in this image, I started thinking monochrome. I also had a similar image in color so I thought the black & white would emphasise the lines and folds in the hills. The lines in the hills somewhat mirror the lines in the clouds.

In the best light…

One response

  1. I have got to say I really adore your site, the way you write
    is awe inspiring!

    August 15, 2012 at 05:03

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 782 other followers