Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

What’s In A Name?


Two Jack Lake and Mount Inglismaldie

I like the way the tones are indistinctly reflected on to the lake surface, creating bands of color. Two Jack Lake is a smallish lake below Lake Minnewanka in Banff National Park. The peak in the background is Mount Inglismaldie and is the second highest in the Fairholme Range. I think that having some knowledge of your subject, that you can pass on to your viewers, will enhance their experience and enjoyment of your images. I take some pride in knowing or finding the names to all of my photo locations. This takes some study time and knowledge of the lay of the land. I look at a lot of images every week and there is little that I find more annoying than misinformation. People who are geographically challenged have numerous tools available, starting with in camera GPS tagging. Data logger GPSs offer two step photo locating. Lastly there are dozens of programs to run on your computer to add Latitude and Longitude information to your files as well as a number of web sites that can tag your photos. GeoSetter is a freeware program that can manually or automatically tag photos from track files. I usually use Photo Mechanic to geotag my files before uploading. Both Flickr and PicasaWeb have geo location features. Paper maps and Google Earth are my two main sources of geographic names. Thanks to a suggestion from Darwin Wiggett, I installed Peakfinder right into Google Earth

In the best light…

4 responses

  1. I always have the Nikon GPS unit attached to my camera . . . every photo is geotagged. I love it.

    December 9, 2011 at 11:46

  2. Lovely expanse!

    December 10, 2011 at 13:01

  3. omg i love it superb

    December 12, 2011 at 02:47

  4. Wonderful! Helps me miss the mountains a wee bit less. Miss you and Sherry more though!

    December 16, 2011 at 12:54

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 809 other followers