Photography and commentary from John Fujimagari

Fabulous Film Fridays, Can Be Contagious


2011-02-20224302_JWF1320

While I was at The Camera Store the other day spending money, I grabbed a few rolls of film, both 120 and 35mm. Again I blame Darwin and this time Samantha too! Their Fabulous Film Fridays had me feeling nostalgic for shooting film. And, this link had me feeling a little anti-digital: http://www.petapixel.com/2011/02/18/funny-amazon-review-of-the-nikon-f6/

My wife bought me this old Ansco at a garage sale about 25 years ago. I like it because it uses 120 film which is still available but I haven’t run a roll of film through it since the 1980s. I loaded a roll of Kodak Portra 160VC and went out shooting last weekend. I got about 8 shots so far. I’d forgotten how much anxiety there is with film. Did the shutter release properly, did i hold the camera steady, was my framing right… I think I was pretty careful about advancing the film, but did I use the right film? Maybe the 160 was too fast for the old camera? Did I get any decent pictures at all? Arrrrg, no chimping, no cheating , no peeking, no seeing what you shot until the film is developed. I think I rapidly over came being miffed at digital.

Old School?

I picked up this little beauty this past summer but it uses 620 film which isn’t being made any more. You can buy custom rolled 620 film for about 16 bucks a roll or I can trim down some 120 rolls to make them work, but I’ve been too lazy busy lately. Maybe later…

I still have a couple of rolls of 35mm Ektar 100 to run through my old Nikon FM.

So, one of these days I’ll have some freshly developed pictures to show everyone.

In the best light…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 832 other followers